Shumard Oak

Botanical Name: Quercus shumardii

Alternate Name: Shumard Red Oak

The Shumard Oak (Quercus shumardii) is a large, majestic deciduous tree. It is native to the bottomlands of the southeastern United States and can often be found growing alongside streams, swamps, and lakes. This tree is a similar species to the Scarlet Oak (Quercus coccinea).

The growth habit of the Shumard Oak is rounded but narrower than many other oak species, with an open crown. It grows to a height of 40-60 feet tall with a spread of 30-40 feet.

The Shumard Oak tree is a member of the group of red oaks. Characteristic sharp bristles grow on the leaf lobes of these oaks. They also have acorns that develop after two growing seasons and mature in the spring.

The flowers of the Shumard Oak are catkins – both male and female flowers grow on the same tree. They are green, inconspicuous, and emerge in spring with the leaves. The fruits are acorns that the tree won’t start producing until it reaches 25 years old.

The leaves are large, growing 6-8 inches long. They are deeply lobed with 7-9 lobes, each ending in a sharp bristle. They are an attractive deep green color. In the fall, the leaves put on a beautiful display with brownish-red or orange-red colors. The leaves will persist on the tree into the winter.

The Shumard Oak is very adaptable to different growing conditions. It can withstand city sites with pollution, as well as dry conditions and clay and alkaline soil.

Height: 40-60 ft.

Width: 30-40 ft.

Shape: Rounded

Flower Color: Green

Flowering Time: April

Fall Color: Red, Orange

Features: Brilliant fall foliage, foliage persists into winter, fast growing

Exposure: Full Sun

Watering: Light/Moderate, tolerates drought

Soil: Prefers rich, moist, acidic well-drained soils. Tolerates a wide range of soil types and conditions, including alkaline and clay.

Growth Rate: Fast

USDA Zones: 5-9

Uses: Lawn tree, shade tree, park tree, street tree, specimen tree

Similar trees: Quercus imbricaria (Shingle Oak), Quercus ellipsoidalis (Northern Pin Oak), Quercus velutina (Northern Black Oak), Quercus coccinea (Scarlet Oak), Quercus palustris (Pin Oak), Quercus rubra (Northern Red Oak)

Call Now Button